The Technical Committee focuses on developing and fostering methods for modeling, analysis and control/observer design for distributed parameter systems described by linear and nonlinear partial differential equations.

This includes (but is not limited to) methods such as differential geometric and algebraic approaches; semigroup and operator theory; Lyapunov-based and backstepping techniques; passivity and dissipativity; controllability and observability analysis; model reduction; computational methods; real-time control; actuator and sensor placement; experimental design; etc.

In addition, applications are considered covering, e.g., energy generation, distribution and storage; process intensification and chemical engineering; adaptive optics; quantum systems; distributed cooperative systems; modern embedded actuators and sensors; traffic and network congestion; flexible micro-structures; etc.