

Call for nominations for the

2025 IFAC TC Award on Non-Linear Control Systems

Objective

The objective of this prestigious award is to recognize individuals who have made outstanding technical contributions in the nonlinear control area and also have supplied remarkable service to IFAC (in terms of organization of IFAC events, excellent activities to IFAC related committees, etc.). Both theoretical contributions and industrial applications in control systems are relevant for this IFAC award. A nominee should be a person with an outstanding scientific profile in the area of nonlinear control systems, as well as a person who has served IFAC. *The award is given in honor of Alberto Isidori*, a distinguished pioneer in the fundamental research, education, and service to the field of nonlinear control systems.

This IFAC award will be the continuation of a « Certificate on Excellent Achievements » given since 2007 during the IFAC Symposium on Nonlinear Control Systems (NOLCOS). To date, the recipients have been:

- Alberto Isidori, given in Pretoria (ZA) during the NOLCOS'07;
- Art Krener, given in Bologna (IT) during the NOLCOS'10;
- Arjan Van der Schaft, given in Toulouse (FR) during the NOLCOS'13;
- Andrew Teel, given in Monterey, CA (USA) during the NOLCOS'16;
- Miroslav Krstic, given in Vienna (AT) during the NOLCOS'19;
- Eduardo D. Sontag, given in Canberra (AU) during the NOLCOS'22.

Nomination procedure

The TC members solicit nominations for this award. The nomination package should include a CV, at most three reference letters, and a one-page supporting letter. The nominations should be sent to the TC Award Selection Committee chair by the 15th of March 2025.

Eligibility

Current TC Chairs, TC Vice Chairs, and Past recipients of this IFAC TC award and of the "Certificate for Excellent Achievements" are not eligible for nomination. No self-nominations are allowed.

Selection criteria

The committee members select the award among all nominees, and the selection criteria are the excellence in the achievements of all objectives of this IFAC TC Award.



Selection process

The composition of the TC Award Selection Committee for the award 2025 is as follows: Eduardo Sontag, Miroslav Krstic [Chair, email: krstic@ucsd.edu], Andrew Teel, and Arjan Van der Schaft. The decision on awarding a TC Award is made by the TC Award Selection Committee.

Members of the TC Award Selection Committee cannot act as nominator, nominee or reference of the TC Award. In case of conflict of interests, TC Award Selection Committee members must resign, and possibly be replaced, in order to have a committee of at least three members.

Frequency of the award and occasion of award ceremony

The award is given every 3 years during each NOLCOS. The award is announced in the Final Program booklet of the Symposium. The award is a plaque that is given during the NOLCOS during an event selected by the General Chair of the Symposium (e.g., the banquet).